Tag archives for 2014 Publications

Marks of the Witch

Marks of the Witch“Catherine Carter’s poems wrestle with contemporary human dilemmas: identity, aging, nostalgia, desire, as well as our place in the natural world. I’m drawn to her diction, spiky and sharp, grounded in the imagery of experience.”

— Joseph Millar, author of three books, including Blue Rust (Carnegie Mellon University Press), recipient of Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts fellowships.

 

“Stephen Spender once described poetry as ‘enchanted utterance.’ Few contemporary poets write poems that come as close to Spender’s definition as Catherine Carter. Call it enchantment or call it witchery, the poetry in Carter’s Marks of the Witch creates through its incantatory rhythms and startling imagery a voice that reveals nothing less than the mystery residing in even the most ordinary detail of our daily lives.”

— Kathryn Stripling Byer, author of six books of poetry
including Descent (LSU Press), winner of the SIBA Award
and the NC Poetry Award

Music from Small Towns

Music from Small Towns“What I love about these poems is how they manage to be so eloquent without being pretentious. I’m also drawn to the way Maginnes juxtaposes fire and its quick losses with fire’s complement, slow vanishing. Not all the poems in this collection directly address either of those ideas — Maginnes is too smart for that — but I finished these pages thinking it was change that infuses the finest of them and that Maginnes, like so many of us, has striven to accept what is, even when it’s transition, and through that acceptance find peace. I admire that, and this book.”
— Lola Haskins, The Grace to Leave, Still the Mountain, Desire Lines, New and Selected Poems

Widow Poems

Widow PoemsThese deeply moving poems about grief, its aftermath, and learning to embrace the world again rank with Betty Adcock’s finest work.

A new book of poetry by the author of six award-winning collections from LSU Press.

 

        Only the fox came
on the night you died, strange
angel the color of gold fire…..

Feeding the Light

Feeding the Light“Rooted in hypnagogic logic and deeply seated in the tradition of Jayne Cortez, Quincy Troupe and Ntozake Shange, Jaki Shelton Green’s verse narratives pay homage to the orphic ethos of the mythmaking South with all the viscous verve of Van Gogh with a palette of syllables, images and words blurring through our senses like the thick, sleek wax of magnolia leaves. Her images conjure cultural beauty from a world-weary—yet ecstatic—kaleidoscopic lens while sustaining a pained relevance that serves up love from every angle of human anguish: the forced marriage of a child bride; memories of grandmothers and mentors, praiseworthy and proud. In Feeding the Light, Jaki Shelton Green captivates with a global vision. Her poems are totems and tomes; they are percussive, convulsive and constructive.”

—Tony Medina, author of Broke Baroque, The President Looks Like Me & Other Poems, and An Onion of Wars.

Steal Away

Steal AwayAn intimate, tender and lyrical chapbook that looks back at a childhood, where friendship, family, and slavery intersect. These poems ponder the conflicted emotions, from joy to sorrow, that come from meditating on one’s legacy.

Shelby Stephenson’s Family Matters: Homage to July, the Slave Girl won the 2008 Bellday Poetry Prize, and the 2009 Oscar Arnold Young Award from the Poetry Council of North Carolina.